Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History Sources: Web Resources

Free Digital Collections

Featured Book

Useful Web Sources

19th Century British Pamphlets Online

Describes nineteenth century pamphlet collections, has links to catalogues and digitised pamphlets, and provides resources to assist those wanting to use pamphlets within their research or teaching.

Archive for Economic Thought

This archive is an attempt to collect in one place a large number of significant texts in the history of economic thought.

British Library Oral History Collections

The British Library's oral history collections cover a wide range of subject areas relating to British life, work, culture, and experience.

Connected Histories

Connected Histories currently includes 25 major digital resources for the period 1500-1900.  Some key collections are listed in this list of freely available resources.

Empire Online

Empire Online brings together manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of 'Empire' and its theories, practices and consequences. The materials span across the last five centuries.

Foreign Broadcast Information Service Daily Reports

Transcribed and translated intercepted radio broadcasts from foreign governments, official news services, and clandestine broadcasts from occupied territories, covering 1941-1996.

Going Global in Mughal India  This collection has been curated by the cultural historian of South Asia and the British Empire Sumathi Ramaswamy who is the Professor of History and International Comparative Studies at Duke University. It reflects her research in visual studies, history of cartography and gender.
Imperiia: Mapping the Russian Empire has a range of historical maps with geographical information and data on demographics and economic indicators. The site is hosted by Harvard University.
International Dunhunang Project is a ground-breaking international collaboration to make information and images of all manuscripts, paintings, textiles and artefacts from Dunhuang and archaeological sites of the Eastern Silk Road freely available on the Internet.
Perseus - Greek and Roman Materials

Digital library of primary and secondary sources for the study of ancient Greece and Rome. Brings together a selection of catalogues and other databases in a single gateway.

Russian Perspectives on Islam is a unique digital collection that illuminates the strategies implemented by the Soviet and Russian state to establish authority and legitimacy among predominantly Muslim populations in Central Asia, the Northern Caucasus and Siberia. 
Seventeen Moment in Soviet History  is a multi-media archive of primary materials designed to introduce students and the general public to the richness and contradictions of Soviet history. Brief  introductions to over 200 subjects are supported by more than 1400 images,  270 video clips,  music with translated lyrics, & over 600 primary texts, as well as links to relevant materials outside the website. 
Silk Road Seattle is an ongoing public education project using the "Silk Road" theme to explore cultural interaction across Eurasia from the beginning of the Common Era (A.D.) to the 17th century. It is sponsored by Simpson Centre for the Humanities at the University of Washington.
Zerkala is a database comprising published and unpublished sources on Russian colonialism in Central Asia and the Caucasus (c1850-1914). It contains texts and images from Russian journals from various archives in St. Petersburg, Tashkent and the Baku in Russian, Azeri, Cental Asian Turki and Persian languages.