Central Asia Quaternary Fault DatabaseThe Central Asia Fault Database (CAFD) allows users to access information on active faults that are located in Central Asia and the surrounding regions. The interactive map displays two different datasets related to seismic hazards in Central Asia including (1) 1,196 faults that are linked to an online database that displays detailed information and references about each fault, and (2) the locations of historic earthquakes. The database search tool permits simple search options (e.g., by fault name or location) and more complex queries (e.g., by seismic and structural characteristics). In addition, users can download data formatted for use in ESRI ArcMap (.shp) and Google Earth (.kml).
EMCA Landslide catalog Central AsiaThe EMCA landslide catalog of Central Asia covers mostly western and northern Kyrgyzstan as well as Tajikistan's Region of Republican Subordination. The catalog is a summary (point locations) of the documented landslides between 1954 and 2009, which are collected by the Central Asian Institute for Applied Geosciences through geological surveys (field campaigns) on single sites close to urban areas in order to mitigate landslide risk. The catalog is presented in identical .csv and NetCDF (.nc) formats. Both the formats include the point locations of the landslides (variables: latitude [WGS 84], longitude [WGS 84]), and the dates of about 5% of the landslides (variable: date). The remaining %95 of the data is undated and marked as NaT (dating not possible).
Global Centroid-Moment-Tensor (CMT) catalogThe Global Centroid-Moment-Tensor (CMT) Project is overseen by Principal Investigator Göran Ekström and Co-Principal Investigator Meredith Nettles at the Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory (LDEO) of Columbia University. The project was founded by Adam Dziewonski at Harvard University and operated there as the Harvard CMT Project from 1982-2006, led first by Prof. Dziewonski and later by Prof. Ekström. During the summer of 2006, the activities of the CMT Project moved with Prof. Ekström to LDEO. This research effort moves forward under the name "The Global CMT Project". The main dissemination point for information and results from the project is the web site www.globalcmt.org.
The CMT project has been continuously funded by the National Science Foundation since its inception, and is currently supported by award EAR-16-39131.
NASA’s Global Landslide CatalogThe global Landslide Hazard Assessment for Situational Awareness (LHASA) model was developed to provide situational awareness of landslide hazards for a wide range of users. Precipitation is a common trigger of landslides. The Global Precipitation Measurement Mission (GPM) Integrated Multi-satellitE Retrievals for GPM (IMERG) data shows recent precipitation, updated every thirty minutes. A LHASA landslide “nowcast” is created by comparing GPM data from the last seven days to the long-term precipitation record.
NOAA Climate datasetsThe NCEI Data Access application offers a wide variety of download and subsetting options for a growing collection of environmental data. While current offerings are limited primarily to weather and climate information, the application has a data-agnostic infrastructure designed to accommodate a broad spectrum of observation formats from across science disciplines.
OpenTopographyOpenTopography facilitates community access to high-resolution, Earth science-oriented, topography data, and related tools and resources.
UNAVCO GPS/GNSS/SAR dataUNAVCO promotes research by providing access to data that our community of geodetic scientists uses for quantifying the motions of rock, ice and water that are monitored by a variety of sensor types at or near the Earth's surface. After processing, these data enable millimeter-scale surface motion detection and monitoring at discrete points, and high-resolution strain imagery over areas of tens of square meters to hundreds of square kilometers. The data types include GPS/GNSS, SAR and Lidar/SfM, strain and seismic borehole data, and Tropospheric data. Most of these can be accessed via web services. In addition, GPS/GNSS data sets, TLS data sets, and InSAR products are assigned digital object identifiers. See our About Data page for more information. See our data help page to request support or custom data acquistion.
USGS ANSS Comprehensive Earthquake Catalog (ComCatTo provide and apply relevant earthquake science information and knowledge for reducing deaths, injuries, and property damage from earthquakes through understanding of their characteristics and effects and by providing the information and knowledge needed to mitigate these losses.
USGS ScienceBase-CatalogThe U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) is committed to enhancing and expanding information sharing and sound data management practices by developing ScienceBase, a collaborative scientific data and information management platform used directly by science teams. ScienceBase provides access to aggregated information derived from many data and information domains, including feeds from existing data systems, metadata catalogs, and scientists contributing new and original content. ScienceBase architecture is designed to help science teams and data practitioners centralize their data and information resources to create a foundation needed for their work. ScienceBase, both original software and engineered components, is released as an open source project to promote involvement from the larger scientific programming community both inside and outside the USGS.
GEOFON/GFZ Seismological Data Archive by https://geofon.gfz-potsdam.de/waveform/archive/The GEOFON archive includes over 160 seismic networks with more than 5100 stations, spanning 28 years from 1993 to today. Most data is open and available on request.
Thermodynamic calculations in Mineralogy, Petrology and Geochemistry
Perple_X ----Perple_X is a collection of Fortran77 programs for calculating and displaying phase diagrams, phase equilibria, and thermodynamic data.
Thermocalc -For more than 30 years, Thermo-Calc Software has been at the forefront of scientific software and databases for calculations involving thermodynamics, phase equilibria, and diffusion-controlled transformations.
Data from these calculations can help you improve your products, optimize processing conditions, decrease time to market, reduce dependence on experiments, and gain a deeper understanding of your materials.
Water Resources Geochemical Software (USGS)
CloudCompare -CloudCompare is a 3D point cloud processing software (such as those obtained with a laser scanner). It can also handle triangular meshes and calibrated images.
Originally created during a collaboration between Telecom ParisTech and the R&D division of EDF, the CloudCompare project began in 2003 with the PhD of Daniel Girardeau-Montaut on Change detection on 3D geometric data.[2] At that time, its main purpose was to quickly detect changes in 3D high density point clouds acquired with laser scanners in industrial facilities (such as power plants) or building sites.[3] Afterwards it evolved towards a more general and advanced 3D data processing software. It is now an independent open source project and a free software.
GAMIT/GLOBK -GAMIT, GLOBK and TRACK form a comprehensive suite of programs for analyzing GNSS measurements primarily to study crustal deformation. The software has been developed by MIT, Scripps Institution of Oceanography and Harvard University with support from the National Science Foundation.
GAMIT ("GNSS at MIT") is collection of programs to process phase data to estimate three-dimensional relative positions of ground stations and satellite orbits, atmospheric zenith delays, and Earth orientation parameters. The software is designed to run under any UNIX operating system.
GLOBK ("Global Kalman filter") is a Kalman filter whose primary purpose is to combine various geodetic solutions such as GPS, VLBI, and SLR experiments. It accepts as data, or "quasi-observations", the estimates and covariance matricies for station coordinates, Earth orientation parameters, orbital parameters, and source positions generated from the analysis of the primary observations. The input solutions are generally performed with loose a priori uncertainties assigned to all global parameters, so that constraints can be uniformly applied in the combined solution.
The most recent full workshops, for which the presentations are available under Documentation, were at UNAVCO in Boulder, Colorado, in June 2017.
LSDTopoTools --This software was developed by members of the Land Surface Dynamics (LSD) research group at the University of Edinburgh.
The software aims to operate:
As a framework for implementing the latest developments in topographic analysis.
As a framework for developing new topographic analysis techniques.
As a framework for numerical modelling of landscapes.
To improve the speed and performance of topographic analysis versus other tools (e.g., commercial GIS software).
To enable reproducible topographic analysis in the research context.
This software is constantly used for research and is regularly updated with new routines. Some popular techniques already implemented include:
Basic topographic analysis
Channel network extraction from LiDAR data
Chi analysis
Calculation of erosion rates from cosmogenic nuclides
Hilltop flow routing, and hillslope relief metrics
Topographic extraction of floodplains and terraces
TopoToolbox -----TopoToolbox provides a set of MATLAB functions that support the analysis of relief and flow pathways in digital elevation models. The major aim of TopoToolbox is to offer helpful analytical GIS utilities in a non-GIS environment in order to support the simultaneous application of GIS-specific and other quantitative methods.
Water Resources Geochemical SoftwareThis software and related material (data and documentation) are made available by the U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) to be used in the public interest and the advancement of science. You may, without any fee or cost, use, copy, modify, or distribute this software, and any derivative works thereof, and its supporting documentation, subject to the USGS software User's Rights Notice.
Virtual 3D geological models
GeoVis3D - freewareGeoVis3D provides tools for measurement of planar and linear geometric elements of 3D geological models and provides tools for 3D annotation and labelling. GeoVis3D currently only accepts 3D models as Google KMZ files that were created using the Photoscan photogrammetry software. Models suitable for GeoVis3D can be downloaded from the AusGeol.org site and have .KMZ extensions.
for analysis and annotation of virtual 3D geological models
CaTeNA – Climatic and Tectonic Natural Hazards in Central AsiaThe GFZ German Research Centre for Geosciences, also known as GFZ Helmholtz Centre Potsdam or just GFZ, is the national research center for Earth Sciences in Germany, located on the Telegrafenberg in Potsdam, in the German federal state of Brandenburg, and is part of the Helmholtz Association of National Research Centres.
"GFZ" stands for GeoForschungsZentrum (Geo-research Centre).
GFZpublic
- GFZ publication database
- Open Access repository
- Open publishing platform for books, proceedings, journals and more
- Publication records from external use of GFZ scientific infrastructure
Central Asian Regional Information NetworkThe Central Asia Regional Information Network (CARIN) is participating member the GOFC-GOLD network (Global Observations of Forest Cover and Global Observations of Land Use Dynamics). CARIN has strong linkages with other GOFC-GOLD regional information networks such as SCERIN (here, too), MEDRIN, CaucRIN, and SARIN.
CARIN geography centers on five countries emerging from the Soviet Union (Kazakhstan, Kyrgyz Republic, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, and Uzbekistan) and Mongolia, and extends into parts of neighboring countries with comparable biogeophysical environments. We are an inclusive, informal network of scientists and professionals located within the region or with scientific interests in Central Asia.
The thematic focus of CARIN spans transdisciplinary studies of land-cover and land-use change (LCLUC) processes and their implications for climate & society, human movements, agricultural systems dynamics, forest function (including disturbances and fires), urbanization, biodiversity, ecosystem carbon storage and flux dynamics, and water and ecosystems management. Some critical regional issues include changes in the regional water cycle and snow seasonality; land surface erosion, dust storms, and public health; remittances and labor migration effects on rural livelihoods; changes in habitat and ecosystem services; increasing urbanization; grazing and livestock in response to socio-economic and environmental changes; and regional climate change/variation/extremes, and natural hazards (e.g., landslides, mudflows, flooding, drought, and fire).
CARIN’s primary aims include:
Providing a platform for collaboration among experts in geospatial information technologies in the region;
Building regional capacity for using remote sensing and other geospatial technologies to study key LCLUC processes;
Fostering regional collaborations to monitor the dynamics, stability, and vulnerability of landscapes, communities, and ecosystems amidst change; and
Promoting effective strategies for sustainable management of landscapes at local, regional, and pan-Eurasian scales.
